What I did for love…

v…is none of your business, but Cathy Lynn Grossman at Faith & Reason asks:

Would you switch religions for love? Ivanka Trump did.

26 responses to “What I did for love…

  1. I didn’t really switch religions, but I agreed to a Catholic wedding for my husband since he was Catholic. Once the kids came along, we decided to find a church home that felt right for both of us. That ended up being a UCC church.

  2. Whoa there!

    “Catholic” simply means “universal.” One can be an Orthodox Catholic, an Anglican Catholic or a Roman Catholic.

    And a Roman Catholic who visits an Episcopal church is a roamin’ Catholic. ;-)

    • Good one, Jay. In my case, I’d guess Roman Catholic. Was your wedding an Episcopal wedding?

      DJ, was your first wedding in a Catholic church?
      What religion presided over your second wedding ceremony?

      Weddings and births seem to push couples into making some sort of a choice.

      • I have managed to escape all that, though I’m not sure how. When I married the first time, we ran off to a justice of the peace. My new mother-in-law was beside herself and I’m not sure she ever recovered. When I married the second time, we got married out in the backyard, and a Congregational minister/friend did the honors. As for births, I never baptized no babies, so I managed to skip that. I think the secret is that if you’re going to marry Roman Catholic, make sure they’re willing to roam. Make sure they’re lukewarm Roman Catholics, in other words.

      • Whew! You did run far away from the C of C! Amen to that! Are you sure you didn’t dunk your boys in a swimming pool at some point – just to be covered?

        • I did not. I let them come to their own religious beliefs. Son One became a Roman Catholic, Son Two became a Communist with vaguely Protestant leanings. We have interesting discussions, when we get together.

          • Excellent! No dunking and they still turned out to be (more than) decent young men from what I hear. I think it’s great that they found their way. Love of Church must make you really glad, too, since you had a…love/hate(?) relationship with yours.

            • I think love/hate pretty much defines it, yeah. I just figure as long as people have put thought into what how they’re living, I’ll keep my mouth shut.

    • He is a Roman — not Roamin’ — Catholic, then. You’re right.

  3. Episcopal wedding for us? Nope. Quaker.
    She later was baptized and confirmed in the Episcopal church, so her Quaker days are far behind.

    An interesting aspect of a Quaker wedding is that everyone present signs the certificate of marriage, on a large scroll.

    I’ve said on another post, that for “pre-marital counseling” the Quaker overseers tried to convert me.

    • I love the idea that everyone signs the scroll. That makes it feel like a community, to me. And evidently, that conversion didn’t take, did it?

  4. We were both Protestant but he was CofC (of the non-so-crazy variety and I was pentacostal. By the time we got married we had met somewhere in the middle, leaning a bit to the CofC side. Neither church requires a specific ceremony. We saw a JP in July and had a minister wedding in September.
    A blogger I read is becoming Greek Orthodox. I think it started for her man but she seems to be into it.

    • I do appreciate couples who want to share a faith and it certainly makes sense if a couple wants to raise children in a particular faith, but at the time of my mating and dating, I was struggling with my own faith and didn’t feel it fair to drag someone into something about which I had so many questions. And I went looking off on my own and have yet to settle on anything. I have come to believe that if you’ve put some time into thinking about your theology, or your morality if you don’t cling to a theology, you won’t hear from me telling you you’re wrong. I might say snotty things about your group as a whole, because sometimes faith groups promote the stupidest stuff, but if you find a pew in which you’re comfortable, who am I go try to move you off it?

  5. A “religion” is a large group, such as Taoism, Buddhism, Christianity.

    Within each group are “denominations” (at least in Christianity) such as Presbyterian, Baptist, Episcopal, United Church of Christ.

    And most of those denominations have a spectrum of belief, conservative to liberal. In other words, there are very liberal Episopalians and very conservative Episcopalians, both using the same Book of Common Prayer, authorized in 1979.

    The ultra-conservatives are still clutching their 1928 or even 1892 BCPs, saying “You’ll have to pry it out of my cold dead fingers.”

    • That’s true. I usually just skip over the whole religion/denomination thing and say “theology,” though not always. And it’s ignorant to the extreme to say that “every Catholic” does any one thing, because Catholics (Roman, I’m talking here) don’t necessary agree on every jot or tittle of their church teachings.

  6. Interesting tidbit about the Book of Common Prayer: the American editions have never been copyrighted.

    • So that means we can start stealing from it? Wonder why it wasn’t copyrighted? Is the Bible copyrighted? I know certain versions are.

  7. I was raised an American Baptist, I say that to appease my mother who always wants to differentiate from the Southern Baptists. I married a UCC-er and we stayed with them. Our son somehow never got baptized as I don’t think babies need it. I was a 13 year old dunkee. So when son was about to make his confirmation, sort of a UCC Right of Passage, he had to be baptized in the chapel beforehand. I don’t know if it took as he is now an agnostic married to a lovely Jewish girl. They’ll raise their kids in the Jewish faith but he has no interest in his own conversion.

    • I wonder how many people dance with the one what brung ‘em, theologically speaking? How many people stay committed to the same theology their entire lives?

  8. “So that means we can start stealing from it? Wonder why it wasn’t copyrighted? Is the Bible copyrighted? I know certain versions are.”

    Marion Hatchett, Commentary on the American Prayer Book, p. 17: “American revisions of the Book of Common Prayer have never been under copyright. Anyone may publish all or part of the Book; it can be amended or enlarged upon without penalty. Books used for services, however, must conform to the Standard Book.”

    In other words, you can quote, say, the wedding service without having to get copyright permission, even if you’re not Episcopalian. Many mainline denominations rely heavily on the BCP for this service.

    Speaking of the wedding service: “I do” is not in the BCP service.

Leave a Reply

