Just a tinge more on the burden of Disney royalty

Capture

Earlier, we discussed Disney princesses and what they teach us — though we didn’t all agree on the lessons we were supposed to have learned from them.

Now, Sociological Images has an update on Disney princes.

Gentlemen, repeat after me: Be rich, charming, famous and good looking. Or at least appear to have those qualities in your future.

29 responses to “Just a tinge more on the burden of Disney royalty

  1. That’s not what Michelle Obama says! SOMEWHERE in an article I read earlier, she says “cute only lasts so long.” Of course she’s referring to women, but still…..

    • She’s right, though. I am of the age now where I kind of feel sorry for men AND women who’ve gotten by on their looks. I mean, things sag. Gravity takes over and if all you had was your pretty face (svelte or muscled body, etc.), you are officially in need of growing a personality right about now.

  2. I’m not charming, good-looking, rich or famous.

    I guess that leaves me out.

  3. Meh, the whole point of Aladdin was that she loved him for who he was, not for him being rich or powerful. Sometimes I think people are looking a leeetle too hard for something bad. These are fairy tales, they are supposed to be extravagant. If the regular girl fell for the regular guy they’d be called sitcoms.

    • actually most of the sitcoms seem to revolve around the pretty little cheerleaders who marry their high school jock sweethearts that turn into stupid drunken louts…as a morality play on “this what happens when you have sex in high school.”

      As one of my friends tells the boys, “date the ugly girls they’ll be grateful, and so will you.”

      • …which implies you have your choice of girls? Because speaking for myself, I emphatically did NOT have my choice of boys.

      • Oh yes, I’d have been SO grateful for pity dates. Sheesh.

        • Pity dates. Ah….and the moment you realize this is a pity date, that feeling in the pit of your stomach….I’ve actually been on those.

      • “As one of my friends tells the boys, “date the ugly girls they’ll be grateful, and so will you.” ”

        The more I thought about this the crankier I got, and I had to turn the computer back on to fuss some.

        Humphrey, I gather that your friend and “the boys” are all George Clooney-cute but for some reason can’t, y’know, score with the princesses, so in order to get laid they’ll date “ugly girls” who will be so grateful they’ll, y’know, do anything, and therefore “the boys” will be glad too.

        I sure hope the “ugly girls” think better of themselves.

        • Precisely. Ugly boys better hope for pretty girls to make them feel grateful. The ball’s (I say this with love) not necessarily just in the boys’ court. And I say that fully aware of the double-entendre, too.

      • My mom told all us girls to find a nerd, they’ll treat you better. It’s not different really, I think it’s about always going after the cheerleader vs realizing that the beautiful people aren’t actually the beautiful people. Of course, that’s a much more diplomatic way of saying it.
        Humphrey’s advice is a song as well, surely you’ve all heard it? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z4TOR7856d4&feature=response_watch

        • So someone beat Hump to it? Hmmm…I went out and found a nerd who looks like the football captain (to me, anyway) and the best thing is, he doesn’t realize what a honey he is. I tell him a lot, but it doesn’t seem to matter to him. Yes. I am blessed and highly favored.

          • Everybody beats me. It is okay….I just enjoy my life with a passion…to my standards.

            • As do we all. Maybe I took what you said earlier out of context. What I thought I heard you say were fighting words. Lord, these comments are a mess, Humphrey. I bet this won’t end up where it’s supposed to.

          • My husband is also a handsome nerdy type. And I don’t mean nerdy like the cool Apple nerdy, I mean some of our friends like to call him Mr. Rogers.

            • I’m laughing as I type this. People look at my husband and ascribe all kinds of qualities to him that he just doesn’t possess, but yeah, “Mr. Rogers” kind of fits. Or my friends just outright call him “Geek Squad.”

  4. There is also a theme in the movies that “living happily ever after” happens after the big, fancy wedding. They are fairy tales, yes, but how many little girls (especially girls) grow up thinking that marriage is their ticket to happiness?

    • Most of them in my generation, I would bet, unless they were fortunate enough to see divorce up close as children, which served to remove the whole glimmer from the thing. For many of us kids from divorced families, it didn’t make us cynical but it did signal to use that the fairy tale just might be out of reach.

      • Ahh, yes. Real life experiences overshadow fairy tales.

        • And that is not to be interpreted — my own stance on this — as an indication that marriage is anything (a good marriage, that is) but wonderful. But there are no white horses and no slippers that fit perfectly and once you realize that, you can get to the real thing.

    • Most of these stories (if not movies) were made when that still was the common fantasy. I think that we still, to some extent, dream about finding that person we want to spend our lives with. While choosing to be single is (of course) valid, it’s still the exception. Most people want a partner of some kind.
      I could see these thing *maybe* being a problem if that’s ALL a child were exposed to but it’s not.

      • I never really bought into the whole princess thing, to be honest. I mean, that was on a movie screen and it wasn’t real life. I was a pragmatist from birth. I have to say that the partner with whom I rattle around in the cage now is exceptional, but I wouldn’t want him to think I actually said that out loud. Keep it to yourself, OK?

  5. See, this is my problem. I should have watched more Disney when I was growing up.
    I was more exposed to Warner Bros….
    That’s a joke son!

    …and the Stooges….
    Hey Whiz Kid

    • Loved Forghorn Leghorn, but my mother banned Three Stooges from our house because we — my two brothers and I, and if you’re not a math major that makes three — started mimicking them a tinge too much. I can still do a fairly credible “Nyuck-nyuck-nyuck,” and of all the talents I’ve acquired, I’m probably most proud of that, my still-credible rebel yell, and my Tarzan call.

    • PeeWee’s playhouse. ‘nough said

  6. Actually Cynical, the man who says this is a big-bellied, mush-mouthed, racist redneck with a heart of gold (at least for some people).

    The boys do not take his advice seriously on most anything…certainly my son thinks he is about three bags full.

Leave a Reply

