October is for eating

vAnd you only have one more day to celebrate it.

It’s:

Eat Country Ham Month, National Pasta Month, National Pickled Peppers Month, Fair Trade Month, National Chili Month, National Pizza Festival (as opposed to just pizza?) Month, National Popcorn Poppin’ Month (spelled just like that) and a bunch of others.

And, oh yes, it’s Halloween and so you can probably work some candy in there. Do you have a favorite? I’m right now eating the Snickers I bought for the lil’ trick-or-treaters. If they all suit up and get here by, say, 10 a.m., there might still be some left.

And thanks, Jezebel, for the link.

   
6 responses to “October is for eating

  1. Yesterday I ate some Korean kimchee. Does that count?

    BTW, did you know that hamburgers made with chopped-up kimchee are delicious–especially grilled–and that turkey burgers with kimchee are even better? Now you know.

    A Korean woman gave me this hint.

    • I did not know that, and I’ve eaten probably my weight and a half in kimchee. Thanks for the tip. I’m a big fan of turkey burgers but always looking for something to jazz ‘em up. Yeh, Jay! Our resident gourmand, a word I had to look up to speel correctly!

  2. I guess I’m a gourmand of sorts. Montgomery, Alabama, is not the culinary capital of the USA. One Indian restaurant here; it is excellent.

    The “Mexican” restaurants all serve the same stuff. Only one has decent carnitas.

    And the Chinese buffets all have exactly the same food and, as God is my witness, the same furniture.

    • Maybe they get together and buy in bulk? I just moved from a small CT town where you had the choice of Chinese, or pizza. Every Friday, we’d try to rotate. Now I live near New Haven and the possibilities are endless. And there’s always a fairly fast train ride into NYC…I’m still not a gourmand, but I love me my meals.

  3. I love candy. Way too much. And Kick posted a photo of beef with broccoli and now I may have to go across town tomorrow to get some.

    • Woke up this a.m. feeling sick to my stomach, I sampled the wares so much. I used to do this as a kid, too, wake up on Nov. 1 feeling sick. Some people never learn. I’ll be pushing my walker to the front door to answer the kiddies with a candy bar stuffed in my mouth.

Leave a Reply

