We regret to inform you…

…that 80 calories is not nearly enough to sustain a grown woman. Nor does soup have a gender.

And now I gently urge you to read more on the topic at The Pursuit of Harpyness. Naughty words alert for the post, but I think you’re old enough, right?

60 responses to “We regret to inform you…

  1. According to that, you also don’t even find men in the grocery store. So…apparently women need to watch what they eat and men don’t?…so they can be skinny and super-model-like?

    What kind of fantasy world are they trying to promote here and why do some people assume it’s how things should be? That’s right – *bleep* them!

  2. lots of these commenters like to reference plowing the soil in the old English to emphasize their points. Thought I was reading Reddit for a minute.

    But I can see how eating only 80 calories per meal would make you want to do that.

  3. Today is Shrove Tuesday. Pancakes and more pancakes for me.

    I feel like one of the few women in the world who hasn’t picked up the “guilt” for food. I’ve always eaten what I wanted, listened to my body, satisfied my cravings…and found it was called “intuitive eating.” Mom, on the other hand…had crazy crash diets, and one time got her teeth wired to lose weight. Huh.

    • Lord. I only paid attention for about three weeks in high school, felt hungry, couldn’t run track, and decided I wasn’t going to limit myself because someone thinks I need to be skinnier. Good for you. Do Shrove Tuesday pancakes come with syrup and butter, I hope?

      • I hope so. This is my first time observing it, with my church. Usually, I just get lots of etoufee and King’s Cake, since it is Mardi Gras, but I want to do something simpler…

        And I am in no mood to veganize all that seafood.

        • Veganize, meaning don’t eat it? Don’t blame you. Very cool. I wish you a lovely Lenten season.

          • Well, “veganize” as in make it vegetarian. Jambalaya just ain’t the same now that I’m vegetarian.

            And thank you. :D

            • I was just inspired to go off and read more about Lent. My church didn’t celebrate it and I think we missed a good opportunity to slow down and think about things for a while.

              • Righto! And may I suggest that during Holy Week you try out a Maundy Thursday, Good Friday and a full-blown, pull-out-the-stops Easter Vigil?

                • I would, but I haven’t a clue how to do all of that. I think I’ll just offer love and support to my friends who fast or give up stuff. I know that’s not the entirety of Lent, but that part fascinates me.

      • What exactly is etoufee and King’s Cake. My daughter mentioned King’s Cake and the only thing she said was that it had a million calories in it. :(

      • Just got back from Holy Comforter Episcopal Church in Montgomery. Pancakes, sausages, bacon, syrup, butter, coffee, milk. All you can eat for $5, and the money goes to the choir fund.

    • Yup. Shrove Tuesday for us also at the nearest Episcopal church.

      Really, I’m not crazy about pancakes for supper, even with bacon and sausages, but once a year I’ll bow to tradition.

      • I’m a fan of pancakes just about any time of day.

      • I have no time restrictions on what I eat. If there’s food to be eaten, and I’m hungry, it doesn’t matter what time it is. Chicken salad at 8AM? Or better yet, pumpkin pie? No problem!

        • I think I’ve told this story before, but indulge me: My sons and I once got into a discussion about assigning the consumption of certain foods to certain times of the day, so the next day, I made hamburgers and fries for breakfast. One was delighted, the other not so much. We never repeated that. My stomach wasn’t ready for that much food in the a.m.

  4. Étouffée is very much like gumbo. Rice, with shellfish and chicken.

    King’s Cake is eaten during Carnival, and is covered with Mardi Gras colors. It’s really, really good.

  5. I was looking forward to a pancake supper at the nearest Episcopal church, but the snow is still coming down and I decided to hunker down at home with last week’s black bean soup.

    Holy Week in the Orthodox Church can’t be topped. I especially recommend the Friday night Lamentations. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PJJw_tlDDg0

  6. Shrove Tuesday? Pancake suppers tonight? This is all foreign to me. Is Mardi Gras a religious celebration, too? I don’t do Lent either. Are these all related? I AM clueless. Sheesh!

    • Good. Come sit by me. We’ll share the dunce cap.

      • I truly have never heard of this and looking at all these people flipping pancakes is making me feel really out of the loop….and hungry. Have I been living under a rock?

      • Oh, awesome. Prestented THIS way, this is a religious tradition I can embrace!

      • Ha, ha. It’s an old English tradition, and the Episcopal Church likes old English traditions.

        The pancake biz evolved from a need to “shrive” the house of all fats, The fats were used in pancakes and everyone ate up.

        Something similar happens with Jewish people getting ready for Passover by cleaning the house of all leavened bread.

        This is not really a “religious” event in the sense of a church service. Neither is Mardi Gras. They’re just quaint additions that make life interesting.

      • I’m half Scottish/English/Irish and I still didn’t know of this. Starting next year, I’m celebrating with pancakes!

    • Mardi Gras, with significant celebrations in Mobile and New Orleans, is a time of revelry, ending on the night before Ash Wednesday.

      Ash Wednesday is the beginning of the Lenten season. Forty days (not counting Sundays, which are always feast days) of absistence of some sort. This may be giving up meat–an old tradition. Or desserts, or something “favorite.” I knew a woman who gave up computering for Lent!

      Lent may also be a time of taking on additional “loads,” such as spiritual reading, increased giving, serving in a soup kitchen.

      Lent culminates in the three days before Easter–Maundy Thursday, which is a commemoration of Jesus’ last Supper with his disciples and often includes foot-washing; Good Friday, where we remember Jesus’ death on the cross and we pray for the world; The Great Vigil of Easter,Saturday night, which is the end of the Lenten season and the beginning of the 50-day celebration of Easter.

      Orthodox follow a different calendar and usually they are a week behind the other liturgical observances. However, this year the date of Easter for both faith traditions conincide.

      And Sharon is right–the Orthodox are champs at liturgical observances.

  7. My 21st birthday falls next Easter. So does the Orthodox Pascha. I’m probably just going to get drunk on two different wine varieties and pray for ecumenicalism that day. I dunno, lol.

    Wait, wait. I’m a mommy? What time-space vortex did I step into?

    • Even weirder, your co-mommy with me. We’re mommy-ing Jac, who’s actually a fabulous mother, herself. Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

