Do you think this is true?

And thanks, Digg, for the link.

19 responses to “Do you think this is true?

  1. Help! I can’t find the Digg story!
    And anything that has atheists holding that big a slice of whatever pie they’re talking about… I need to see.

      • Thank-you.
        I couldn’t agree more.

      • Did you page down on that site? What kind of source is this? No, I don’t believe a word of it.

        • It’s from a website called Standard Madness. I wouldn’t put a lot of faith in it. I thought it was interesting that the person who drew the pie chart would think more atheists read the Bible than, say, most Christians. That might be true, but I don’t know how one would quantify that. In my discussions with atheists/agnostics, I’ve found many of them to be pretty knowledgeable about what the book says.

          • I do think that discussion interesting, but….”Standard Madness Recommends…The 5 types of (bleep) buddies a man could have”…..That threw me.

            I still don’t think that many atheists have read the Bible.

            • It’s been my experience that the smart ones. Otherwise, how would they know what they’re rejecting?

              But then, there is a boatload of Christians who haven’t read it, either, so I could be confused.

              • Christians have difficulty accepting the fact someone could read scripture cover to cover and come away a non-believer.

                Atheists have difficulty accepting the fact so many people read scripture in its entirety, fail for centuries to agree on what it all means, but still hold it up as some infallible document defining human purpose and direction in life.

                • And both groups have a point — though I can honestly see reading the thing and rejecting it. I really can. Will I have to give back my Christian Decoder Ring? Because I am really quite fond of it.

              • Oooh, the pie chart is missing a large group of theologians and pastors who most likely read the Bible in it’s entirety in seminary. I think the point the chart makes is well taken. Really, a lot of us Christians have not read the entire Bible. I wonder what percentage of Christians have actually read it cover to cover. I haven’t.

                However, I’m not sure that reading it all is necessary to accept Christianity or God (or to decide on atheism). The Bible doesn’t actually prove anything, does it? Several family members are atheist or agnostic, and they have made the decision based on science/logic rather than theology. I can’t really argue with them (nor do I want to). I haven’t seen anything in the Bible yet that I can offer to them. I will admit, I have my own doubts as well as my hopes. It keeps me searching for answers and maybe that’s what differentiates me from my relatives. Personally, the Bible doesn’t help me with any of that.

                • I have that same approach to atheists/agnostics. I figure if they’ve come to that stance with forethought, and that makes them happy — or fills their lives in some way — who the hell am I? If someone starts asking, I’m happy to talk but I. Don’t. Push. Because I pushed already and it’s rude. Besides, the example I like best in the Bible-that-no-one-reads :) is by example. Not that I’m doing that, either, but still.

                  • “Besides, the example I like best in the Bible-that-no-one-reads :) is by example. ”

                    What book & where?

                    • datingjesus

                      All over, but mostly centered on Jesus’ life. He preached and taught, yes, but he taught louder with his actions than with his words.

        • I doubt the pie represents any serious data collection. It’s a rub, that’s all.

          But I think you might be surprised about atheists reading scripture. Many have read the entire bible. We just don’t take a lifetime to do it.
          And it rarely comes up in atheist conversation, (old atheist conversation anyway).

          • Well, if an atheist is going to talk to a Bible-thumpber, said atheist might be more inclined to acknowledge her/his familiarity with the scriptures. I probably am not getting an entirely random sampling, but I do think it’s interesting that people take the time to read it and then reject it, and some people don’t take the time to read it, and embrace it. Or think they do.

  2. It depends on what that circle represents…

  3. Bogus. It’s satire, more or less.

Leave a Reply

