Girls Gone Wild? More like the court went wild.

A young woman goes into a bar, dances, has her top pulled down without her consent, is videotaped, and ends up in a Girls Gone Wild video.

She sued, but a court ruled that by being in the bar, and dancing for a photographer, the woman was not harmed by her inclusion in the raunchy tape.

The jury foreman said:

“Through her actions, she gave implied consent. She was really playing to the camera. She knew what she was doing.”

To which the tearful woman replied:

“I was having fun until my top was pulled off. And now this thing is out there for the world to see forever.”

Let’s hope there’s an appeals court interested in listening to an exploration of the word “consent.”

16 responses to “Girls Gone Wild? More like the court went wild.

  1. Cynical Susan

    “She asked for it, your honor, she went into that bar dressed in a top that could be pulled down. It’s her own fault.”

  2. Cynical Susan

    Interesting link from the original story

    http://womensrights.change.org/blog/view/its_not_just_bullying_its_slut-shaming_the_case_of_phoebe_prince

    about the young South Hadley girl who killed herself after being bullied by other girls.

  3. The jury members would have voted differently if that woman had been their own daughter, sister, wife, mother, friend.

  4. I’ll never look at a tube top again in the same way. Neither will a lot of boys and men, I’ll wager. It seems to me the court declared open season on women in bars in summer clothes.

    • I’m surprised by the ruling, myself. I have not seen the video and don’t much want to, but if I did, given this woman’s description of that day’s events I am fairly certain I’d still disagree with this ruling.

  5. “It seems to me the court declared open season on women in bars in summer clothes.”

    I think that about sums up the situation.

  6. Uncanny rock n’ roll commentary (sorry it’s not a better version:

    “Decibels and little pills and all the thrills you steal from the moon
    Holding hands with bright new friends
    Names are only good for gravestones
    Because he was sweet and so was she and you needed love to fill the dark
    and time is a current that only flows from warm hands to warm hearts

    No one here is gonna save you
    No one here is gonna save you

    In bed you said “forever” like the world would end if one of you let go
    You woke up just in time for the sunset
    you said let’s all go to the big rock show
    and in the bar when you were playing air guitar they suddenly vanished on their little clouds
    and in his place you can’t find a face without a trace of despair or a shroud

    No one here is gonna save you
    No one here is gonna save you

    And he pulled off your blouse, went girls gone wild
    for a crowd that just didn’t want to know
    And it’s not your scene, everyone is mean
    in their eyes they say i don’t wanna know
    And how sad is that, your rebel cowboy hat
    all it says is you’re tonight’s casualty
    oh when the crowd is proud to look away
    like they’ve never been lonely

    No one here is gonna save you
    No one here is gonna save you
    No one here is gonna save you
    Where’s the one that’s gonna save you”

    http://www.rhapsody.com/american-music-club/the-golden-age

    • You know what leaped out to me? “You’re tonight’s casualty.”

      • It’s heartwrenching really. And it sort of sums up the real story.

        I know I’m supposed to turn the other cheek and stuff . . . but I can’t help but feeling like if I met the person who commited the assault I’d like to punch him in the face.

        • I draw the line at turning the other cheek. I mostly only do it on Thursdays between the hours of 1 and 2 a.m. Hit me then, and I will be a practicing Christian. Hit me any other time and I will punch you in the stomach.

          I bet if I rifle through my Bible I can find scriptural backing on that.

Leave a Reply

