Every Tuesday at 11:45 a.m….

…I am due at  Burns School in Hartford, where I volunteer to read with a student for the Everybody Wins CT! Power Lunch program.

My student is a dark-eyed 9-year old with a 1,000-kilowatt smile. He is a fabulous reader, and this is a picture of our first chapter book together. I am not telling you about this because I want you to think I’m a nice person. In fact,  I used to volunteer far more than I do now, and I have missed far too many Tuesdays because of work.

But last week, we were reading this book with another student whose adult reader hadn’t shown up. It’s a magic/pirate book and just for giggles, I started reading some of it in Pirate. Immediately, my reading buddy jumped in with some extremely convincing “Arghs” and “Me mateys.” The kid’s 9. You wonder how kids learn Pirate at such a young age.

Anyway. If you’re looking for a volunteer opportunity in the Hartford area, I highly recommend Power Lunch.

4 responses to “Every Tuesday at 11:45 a.m….

  1. Kids love those books!
    (I hear it’s a TV show now…but I don’t know how I feel about that…)
    And, Susan, I have NEVER laughed so hard at a biography as I did with his. It’s called “Knucklehead”, and for you, I believe it’s a “must read”!
    We have it in the Children’s Dept. at my library, but I really don’t know of anyone who wouldn’t enjoy it…well, maybe some Die-Hard Sourpusses, but not NORMAL folk!

  2. I miss spending time reading and doing math with the second graders in Hartford. I hope to be able to fit something like that in again soon. Maybe I’ll look into Powerlunch.

Leave a Reply

