Because I’m one proud teacher…

Screenshot 2016-04-20 20.43.44Please, if you have a moment, go to the blog written by students in my COMM4500 class (a senior seminar at University of New Haven).

At the beginning of the year, I had each student write down what they knew about wealth and income inequality. Some were pretty well informed, and some, not so much, but we’ve spent the semester examining everything from health outcomes to housing to clothing (sweat shops) and beyond. We’ve talked about taxes and fairness and racism and the gender gap, and they’ve challenged me and themselves in ways I couldn’t have imagined back in January.

I told them early on that if they got 10,000 views on the blog, I’d buy them pizza. As I write this, they’re at 11,845. The pizza arrives in class on Monday afternoon, and since the students have exceeded all expectations, I told them if they hit 15,000, I would tear up the final and they could consider themselves done once they write the last blog next week.

So please: Help push them meet their goal. This is an incredible group of students and I can’t wait to see what they make of themselves.

6 responses to “Because I’m one proud teacher…

  1. I’m doing my part. Great project and good topics!

Leave a Reply

