What does it mean, to “come together?”

No less an outsider than Michael Bloomberg said we are strongest when we do precisely that, at last night’s Democratic National Convention in Philly.

I’ve been thinking about this a lot in the last few days. I’ve already said Bernie Sanders was my candidate, and now I’m with her. I understand the BernieOrBust folks, but I’ve noticed some pretty barbed conversations between people who I know to be friends, at least on the social media outlets I troll. I am all for vigorous debate, but this feels like something more serious than in-family carping.

So I’ll make a deal, to anyone who’s interested: We all have the right to figure out our own politics, and where to cast our own vote. I cannot emphasize how little I care for Donald Trump, but I refuse to hate any one for their political choices. That’s as close to “come together” as I can get.

(But I’m probably going to continue being nasty about Donald. It’s in my genetic code, I fear.)

9 responses to “What does it mean, to “come together?”

  1. Oh…come on…say her name.

    There does seem to be a lot of bad blood between the factions. It’s difficult to discern, given the sorry state of our media resources, and the inherent unreliability of comment boxes and social media, how deep the divisions actually are and how much is just sensationalism ginned up for clickbait.

    I think when politicking is reduced utterly to unabashed demagoguery, where people aren’t given anything to vote for and only something to vote against, this type of behavior is to be expected. Hate and discontent breeds hate and discontent. And “coming together” has to mean more than sit down and shut the fuck up. (Mr. Bloomberg!!!) Especially in the Democratic Party. Even with Hillary Clinton as the standard-bearer.

    • I want to think that smart people can figure this out. To not figure this out is to risk far more than an election.

      • See the link to The Nation editorial included in my response to Jac below.
        NeoMcCarthyism?
        If the shoe fits………

  2. I will go along with that, with the addendum: Though I may not hate you, I will hate your choice if it is Trump and tell you so. Is that even close to coming together?

    What saddens me most is the nastiness from the die hard Hillary supporters toward the die hard Bernie supporters, and vice versa, which sometimes outweighs their focus on the real threat, the GOP & Trump. There is no reason for it.

    • It’s not going to serve either faction well to keep carping at one another. There has to be something to work out to keep Orange Hitler from office. And I say this as a Bernie supporter.

    • We cannot “come together” by dismissing, out of hand, the very real and potent disillusionment of the vast majority of Americans. Too many of whom are hearing answers to their disillusionment in the ressentiment of Trumpism.

      Understanding Trumpism, the ideological tradition it’s rooted in, and why it’s taken hold of more than half of voting America, the Republican Party, and the media.
      Via Glenn Greenwald, who isn’t exactly happy with the demagoguery taking over the media.
      The same can be said for the editors at The Nation.
      And Michael Moore:

      “The population of schools has been wrecked, and the news media is just insipid and stupid and doesn’t give the people the facts about what’s going on,” Moore said, adding that American voters are “easily manipulated.”

      Moore predicts a Trump victory.

       “He’s [Trump’s] not as stupid as he looks. You should take it very seriously,” the director of “Fahrenheit 911” and “Roger and Me” warned. “He knows the manipulation that’s going on here, and the use of propaganda and the way he’s doing it is just brilliant in the way that he is succeeding and has succeeded.”

      Unless the Democratic Party replaces the demagoguery with some answers to the very real problems driving voters toward Trump and away from Clinton, what Dougherty describes above as personal despair, I think Moore’s prediction will be fulfilled.

      Compassion wrought from understanding…especially an understanding of history…must govern our desire for solidarity. Not fear and loathing.

      • All good points. The Democratic Party should consider the progressives or count on a Tea Party-like exit.

        • And the Democratic Party needs to understand what motivates Trump supporters as well.
          When you start to break out of the demagoguery and sensationalism, there are significant similarities among the disillusioned in both Parties.

          • That’s true, even though I’d argue that I could embrace the Democratic party platform far, far, FAR earlier than I could ever embrace the Republican one.

Leave a Reply

