When you’re a wife…

Screenshot 2016-08-08 09.25.30So Corey Cogdell-Unrein earned a bronze medal in the Rio Olympics for trap shooting, and the local paper, The Chicago Tribune, trumpeted that here.

As you can see from the headline at the link, the athlete’s name was featured prominently, followed by her relationship (she’s a wife) to a local celebrity, Bears defensive lineman Mitch Unrein. It’s tough to write a headline on a story about a sport with which most Americans are unfamiliar, but as you can see from the tweet above (that’s a screenshot) her incredible achievement remains that she is a wife.

I find this troublesome, at best. I am proud to be married to the man I’m married to. I did not take his name when I married him because I already had a name of my own and didn’t need another one. This is no way should be taken as a diminishment of my love and devotion to him. But the day someone thinks of me first of all in my relationship to someone else is a day that first someone will get a stern talking-to. I am proud of being a wife, a mother, and a grandmother. All those relationships mean more to me than I can say. But c’mon.

 

One response to “When you’re a wife…

  1. Cory’s a pistol. Pun intended. She’s one of the winningest competitors in her sport. She a certified Italian chef. She can rebuild a Jeep from the frame up. And she likes to ride motorcycles. All the focus on her husband is really irrelevant. (The Bears? Really? Where do they play again?)

    Personally? I’d like to see some coverage of the firearm she uses. Olympic shooters are notoriously picky about their firearms and the practice schedule demands a unit that can withstand much greater use than a standard firearm. Photos show Cogdell-Unrein using a Krieghoff International shotgun. I’m not all that familiar with shotguns made for competition and whether or not Olympic rules allow any modifications.

    But that’s just me. What might be more generally interesting to see covered in the press, especially in America, is why shooting sports are gender segregated now. All shooting events were open between 1968 and 1980. Gender segregation began in 1984, but trap and skeet shooting remained open until 1996, when it was opened for men only. Women’s events returned in 2000. Currently, women’s events only number 6 out of 15. (Equestrian events are the only open events left at the Olympics.) If there is any sport that should not be segregated according to gender, it’s shooting sports. (Including archery.) “The course of fire is 125 targets in the qualification round for men and 75 for women, and 25 additional targets in the final round for the six best shooters.” Wiki.

    WTF! That makes no sense to me at all.

Leave a Reply

