Australia’s prime minister dropped a bill in a poor man’s cup…

20Turnbull_xp-master768…and all hell broke loose.

Last week, a photo was circulated of Prime Minister Malcolm Turnbull placed the U.S. equivalent of $3.80 into the cup of a man who is homeless in Melbourne.

Was he being stingy? Should he not have given that money? Was it just a simple, humane gesture? Some of the commentary centered on Turnbull’s party policies, that appear to have created a ripe environment for homelessness, though I’m only going on what Australian writers are saying, not from any personal knowledge.

I’ve said this before, and I’ll say it again: I give when someone asks. I give what I can, and though I’m not always walking around with a roll of $20s, but I give. Would that more people gave, but more to the point, would that more people in power looked at the way the system is gamed against so many people. And would that they fixed that. Yes, the poor will always be with you, but do they have to sink so far down that they need to beg?

9 responses to “Australia’s prime minister dropped a bill in a poor man’s cup…

  1. I agree it doesn’t make much sense to criticize someone for responding publicly to suffering with a charitable act. It’s self defeating. Turnbull knows it.

    A problem…a dissimilarity…arises when a public figure does it…publicly. Especially a public figure with a duty…and ambition…to affect public policy. It’s a much different situation than what you…and untold millions of other people…practice in your daily lives.

    The pubic figure does it to send a message. And elicit public response.

    You…and untold millions of other people…do it because you’re compassionate human beings. Many…like you…are Christians who take their New Covenant seriously:

    Be careful not to do your acts of righteousness before men to be seen by them. If you do, you will have no reward from your Father in heaven.

    So, when you give to the needy, do not announce it with trumpets, as the hypocrites do in the synagogues and on the streets, to be honored by men. I tell you the truth, they have received their reward in full.

    But when you give to the needy, do not let your left hand know what your right hand is doing,

    so that your giving may be in secret. Then your Father, who sees what is done in secret, will reward you.
    Matthew 6:1-4

    Turnbull invokes the Christian God when it suits him, and ignores It likewise. He’s a politician. He gets paid to be a hypocrite.

  2. “…a miser’s cup.”
    ??????????

    • Someone else asked about that phrase. I learned it in Sunday school. Is it rude?

    • Never mind. If you have to explain yourself, better to go with the more popular phrase. “Miser,” in the vernacular of my youth, wasn’t someone who was stingy, but someone who didn’t have enough to share. But never mind.

  3. I oft can not pony up cash, but when someone hits me up & asks if they can buy a ciggie from me, I always say “No, but you can have one if you need one.” Then, we have a conversation while we smoke. Sometimes I find out a story that shows me that I can do something else for them that will help more than a buck will.

Leave a Reply

