Momma’s got a brand new bag

maxresdefaultIn times past, I would spend hours having sometimes barbed or downright mean conversations on social media with people who did not agree with things I wrote.

Those days are gone. People still disagree, but now I am pretty quick to jettison them off my posts. They don’t even have to call names. If I deem them disagreeable, they’re gone. So here is how I’ve started to think about things:

When someone weighs in and is rude on a social media platform like Facebook, I kick them off. I thank them for their input and comment that it’s sad that they had to slip away, like a death. It’s like the anti-Rapture. They’ve been called away, unexpectedly, and even while in my heart I believe staying in communication is important, there’s a limit to how much time I’ll spend on these kinds of conversations.

 

3 responses to “Momma’s got a brand new bag

  1. I hope you’re going for a little more than merely disagreeable. I’m disagreeable. Comes with the territory.

    But I can certainly understand pulling the plug on willfully ignorant haters and the unceasing argumentum ad hominem. It’s a waste of time. It’s not discourse. It’s not even conversation. It’s hate speech. And it shouldn’t be tolerated.

Leave a Reply

