All I want for Christmas…

…is you.

Yesterday, I was sitting and doing a little (very little) work at Hartford’s downtown library (free Wifi!) and ended up sitting next to a class of would-be English speakers.

As I listened to them practice words like “arm” and “hurt,” I got a little choked up. One woman spoke Turkish and Farsi and some Spanish, but wanted to add English. The class exercises involved a lot of practice conversation. I had to stop myself from going over and hugging every last one of them.

One response to “All I want for Christmas…

  1. English is not easy, I’m realizing. I heard it takes about 2 years to learn “social English” and 7 to learn “academic English”. Mostly it takes practice and a lot of patience. I give ESL learners a lot of credit. I’m not sure I could do it.

Leave a Reply

