Fundamentalists and New Atheists aren’t so different

O-031-0437Well, their approaches to the notion of God certainly are, but not their method of sharing their beliefs, says Frank Schaeffer, on AlterNet.

Writes Schaeffer:

I know a deranged faith-based personality cult when I see one, given that my late father Francis Schaeffer was a fundamentalist guru to millions in the 1970s and 80s and a leading founder of the Religious Right, something Max Blumenthal discusses in his important book Republican Gomorrah and that I go into (in depth) in my book Patience With God–Faith For People Who Don’t Like Religion Or Atheism. (In that book I explain what is wrong with evangelicalism — besides paranoia and hate! — and why I got out.)

Takes one to know one, says I. And I agree. I almost expect the likes of Christopher Hitchens to come knock on my door and browbeat me. Fortunately, as I used to knock on doors and browbeast, myself, I come fully armed (with the tools to counter such a haranguing).

Published by datingjesus

Just another one of God's children.

Join the Conversation

9 Comments

  1. He who fights with monsters might take care lest he thereby become a monster.
    Nietzsche
    A little fundamental reminder for the atheists.

  2. I had a “friend” tell me she couldn’t support my teaching Our Whole LIves (the groovy UU/UCC human sexuality course which all of us need. Fact based!) because it was “religious.” She clearly doesn’t understand UUism being covenantal not creedal. And why did she need to share with me? Like her bigotry is going to change my mind? Or anyone else’s?

    1. There’s a way to talk about differences in approach that is far more open-eyed and open-hearted. I’m learning that, myself.

    2. Oooh, I was wondering if you taught OWLs when you mentioned the class in another post! I’ve heard such great things I’ve thought about getting my girls in a class when they are a bit older even though we’re not UU. FWIW, the only atheist I know IRL is UU. She thinks it’s hilarious to call herself a church lady!

      1. The OWL program is k- Adulthood (like for you and me and 99 year old folks.) The UCC is in on it too, and I’m sure your children would be more than welcome. We’d gladly let non-UU kids in but for the courses without parents physically there we need to do an orientation and get a signed permission slip,which is a GIANT PITA.

  3. I can’t speak for other congregations, but I would completely encourage it (and did in our parent orientation meetings.) THe parent orientation meeting will give you an excellent idea of what will be going on too. And every OWL instructor has to go to a course on how to teach it (as well as havng an extensive background check too, of course.)

Leave a comment