Join the Conversation

14 Comments

  1. If Tareq and Michael Salahi can crash an Obama state dinner…the Taliban has to be licking its chops.

  2. I’ve lost track, are these our objectives?

    1) Get al’Qaida’s leaders and as many followers as needed to permanently cripple their threat (and they ain’t in Afghanistan)
    2) Leave Afghanistan as rapidly as possible once civilian protection from the Taliban can be provided by the Afghanistan government.

    Is there more to it? I know the focus of our mission has morphed through the Bush years, but are we finally back to this? If so, then I think that’s good news.

    1. It’s a two-edged policy, in my mind. Yes, find al-Qaeda, but also plan to leave. It’s something for everyone. Whether it’s workable is another topic.

      1. Iraq has been a BIG distraction from the initial purpose of going after as’Qaida. I think Obama is going to get us out of there “soon”, at least. (I think I heard that.) Once we’re out of there, let’s celebrate.

        From my limited understanding, there are 2 main reasons to go after the Taliban in Afghanistan.
        1. To ensure that they don’t provide a safe haven for al’Qaida in Afghanistan. (However, they already have a safe haven elsewhere so in my opinion, that’s not a good enough reason to risk the lives of our troops. We should instead focus on al’Qaida directly.)
        2. To provide a safe environment from the wrath of the Taliban for the Afghani civilians. (That seems worthwhile although it should be accomplished in the longer term without us)

        Hopefully, we can accomplish this more rapidly, but you may be right. It may not be workable. In that case, when do we “give up” and go home?

  3. One thing someone mentioned on Twitter was that with the 18 month time-table, he’s giving us a chance to hold him accountable in 2012.
    I don’t understand these things well enough to know if he’s doing the right thing. I trust him to consult the best and brightest but I hope hope hope I can trust his motives.

    1. Interesting. That’s true. If he doesn’t meet the 2011 deadline, here come the elections a little more than a year later.

      1. I agree. At the same time, I’m not ready to criticize Obama and his decision to send more troops because I do trust him. I don’t like that path, but I know he has a lot more information on the situation in which to base his decisions. I think I know what our objectives should be, but exactly how to achieve them is another thing. I’m choosing to trust him on that end.

        1. I still like Pres. Obama, but “trust” is strong for what I normally feel for politicians. I think he’s a statesman, as well, don’t get me wrong, but I don’t always trust that the political process’ results will jibe with what I want to happen.

    2. “I trust him to consult the best and brightest”

      This is how I feel. What I want may not really be possible. What do I know, really?

      1. As much as the next person, actually. I mean, if you sit down and start talking about, say, world economics with me, I can keep up just so far, but I think common sense is a marvelous asset in any of these discussions.

  4. The analysis you have to know I would refer to is from Professor Bacevich.
    He has a very interesting question and answer session transcribed on wbu.org where he fields questions from just regular folks like us.
    “I found the speech disappointing.”

    Then there’s his interview with Amy Goodman on Democracy Now!.
    “Well we now have a pretty well established tradition in this country and I regret this tradition deeply, a tradition of somebody—of a president wishing to be seen as a commander-in-chief using American soldiers as props. I think it may have well been Ronald Reagan and was the first to initiate this practice. Every president since Ronald Reagan, regardless of party, has adhered to this practice. President Obama did last night. I think it’s showing disrespect to American soldiers to use them for political purposes and I wish that the politicians or the political advisors who arrange the sort of events would cease to do that.”
    Interesting perspective from a career soldier, (23 years), and a father who lost his son in the wars.

Leave a comment