Join the Conversation

18 Comments

  1. My grandson, Ayden, has been bottle fed since day one. When I asked my step-daughter if she was going to breast feed, she gave me a sickening look and said “No way! That’s disgusting!” Go figure!
    All four of mine were, with the oldest up to 1 & 1/2 years, when Mom was pregnant with the second “Carbon unit.”

    1. I think my mother’s generation might have been the one that was convinced that bottle feeding was the New! Modern! way to go about mothering. And perhaps over the years we’ve sort of worked our way back to some-do some-don’t. With all the emphasis on breasts and sexuality, I can understand why some women are uncomfortable with the idea of nursing. We’ve lost sight of part of what being mammals means.

      1. Yes, it’s funny my MIL did not breastfeed, thought she was too small. My mother was a borderline hippy, into natural foods and such, she nursed all of us. Except my little sister who didn’t like it.
        I had to give it up with the last two for health reasons. (surgeries dried me up) I’m still sad about it.

        1. I was very happy to be able to breastfeed — which surprised me because I don’t consider myself terribly maternal. When my son weaned (right before he grew fangs), I missed it terribly. I’m sorry you weren’t able to continue, Vegas.

      2. In regard to breastfeeding: I think you’re right, Cynical. It did feel weird, at first, but then it felt completely natural within about a week. I wouldn’t have traded it.

  2. I was bottlefed. I think it had to do with me being a preemie and not being able to latch on. I don’t remember all the details.

  3. Those were special moments. I love the way the little one is looking up at mom in that photo. I get a smile every time I page by it.

  4. Don’t fret. That beautiful look of love will quickly turn to disdain once he/she becomes a teenager!

  5. Some women that don’t nurse do so because they have experienced sexual abuse that was connected to their breasts. For women that can get past this, it is frequently very healing to have that part of their body used for something other than someone’s sexual gratification.
    And bf babies do get the antibodies of the mother – thats a fact, btw.
    What’s interestign to me now is Dr. Jack Newman, the God of Breastfeeding, is saying close physical contact, esp’ly skin t skin may be more important to development than the breastmilk itself. When I was a doula, I told moms and dads there are always two people in a feeding – no bottle proping, and hold the baby!

  6. Yes I was a doula for real – did a lot of postpartum work with breastfeeding support. It was fantastic.

    1. I only first heard about doulas a few years ago. What a cool job. But it’s probably not like a job-job. I mean, something like that seems more important than a job-job.

Leave a comment