The last thing they saw

We’re guessing here, but this is from my friend Al, over at CTCameraeye.com, who took the photo above,  in regard to Air France Flight 447:

I don’t get a chance to fly as often as I used to, but when I did, I got the
most enjoyment out of sitting at a window seat and looking out at the
clouds. While writing my blog at CtCameraeye, I got thinking about what was
one of the last images people had on the ill fated Air France Flight 447
over the Atlantic Ocean. Meterologist say there was a lot of bad weather in
the area. Can you imagine the beautiful clouds that they saw. Lighting above
and below them. A rainbow of colors mixing in the atmosphere as water
droplets reflected light off of the aircraft lights, and the lightning. I am
sure they remember that beautiful sight as they went from one life to
another.

While they learn the painful details, our thoughts and prayers are with the passengers’  loved ones.

Published by datingjesus

Just another one of God's children.

Join the Conversation

10 Comments

  1. Not to be a spoil-sport, but it was actually probably pretty terrifying. The plane would’ve been incredibly bumpy from all the turbulence. The lightning would be so close and flashing so often. Since they think the plane was hit by lightning, they were not above all the clouds, so the plane would’ve been really dark between ultra-bright lightning flashes. The scene outside the plane would’ve been really dreary. Then, when the plane was hit, everything probably went dark and the plane probably nose-dived into the ocean at 500 mph. I’m picturing people screaming and dying instantly from the change in cabin pressure or the worst belly-flops of their lives.

    Well, SOMEone flew in a thunderstorm less than a week ago . . .

    Different crash, but still informative about flying/landing planes in severe weather: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kuyemkle6yg

    1. It’s probably delusional on my part, but I want to think that for at least some of their flight, they saw something peaceful. I can’t imagine what happened after the plane started down, and I am so sorry for their loved ones’ having to find out the details in such a public way.

      1. Agreed. Apologies for the pessimism. I’m sure they did see pretty stuff at some point in the flight. I flew in a thunderstorm last week, but I still saw a little bitty sunset, before we dipped too far below the clouds.

        1. Your storms must have been frightening. I’ve flown through some boomers going back and forth to Missouri and they’re beautiful and frightening.

  2. I’m hoping they found some comfort in their fellow passengers. My heart goes out to the families. I know how devastating that can be.

    1. You surely do. I hate that this is so public, though I don’t have an alternative. Of course we want to know about this, but I wish there was a way for loved ones to find out first.

      1. I’m not sure it matters, really. It’s shocking any way the news is delivered. The news of the crash that affected my family was delivered to family members in the airport who were waiting for the plane’s arrival. They were gathered in a private room and then given the news. Any way it comes, its devastating to people who have lost loved ones this way. There’s no warning and it is nothing less than a shock. Of course later, the questions of “why?” and “how did it happen?” are asked, but the answers may never be found. I’ve heard accounts from people who have nearly crashed and descriptions of what occurred on the plane and among the passengers, and their thoughts. I would say it was pretty sad.

        1. I guess, as a working journalism, I am keenly aware of how difficult it is to process this information, and with people like me right outside the door, well…You’re right, though. It’s awful news, no matter how it’s delivered. Thanks, Jac.

            1. You’d be surprised (maybe) at the sensitive journalists in the business. Our reputation is horrible but not that many of us live up to that horrible reputation.

Leave a comment