Join the Conversation

25 Comments

  1. I’m happy! Really, I’m happy! Stop hurting me! I’ll be happier when you stop hurting me!

  2. The same effect can be had with electrified tinfoil helmets, suitably connected to a power source.

  3. That’s bizarre, and I wasn’t even watching with the sound on. Reminds me of all the times I’d be walking down the hall at one of my cubicle jobs, deep in thought, and a man–it was always a man– would command me to “Smile!” Because girls always have to be happy, doncha know

    1. Did you sweetly flip him off? I was giving directions to the nearest (free) coffee pot at my work to some construction workers, and when I walked about 20 feet away, a colleague asked if those guys had been “giving me a hard time.” He said I looked so angry, waving my arms. I just started laughing. I asked him how he’d give directions if he had to. Would he keep his arms pinned. “But you looked so angry!” he said. “No,” I replied, “I looked intent. There’s a difference.” And then I showed him my angry face. At the time, I didn’t know why I reacted to his comments, and now I do. You’re right. Girls are supposed to be happy.

      1. I was young and it was my first job, so I was usually obedient and smiled. Today it’s more likely it would come from an older patron. So I’ve missed the flipping-off window. But I’d be doing it in my head.

        1. I was a lot quieter when I was younger. The situation I described was from about two weeks ago.

      2. “You’re right. Girls are supposed to be happy.”

        Or at least LOOK happy, so as to (1) brighten the view for men and (2) not threaten men.

        1. Brighten the corner where you are, as we sang in Sunday school. I actually always hated that song.

          1. Does it refer to smiling? Or does it mean to make that little corner of the world a better place?

            1. “Does it refer to smiling? Or does it mean to make that little corner of the world a better place?”

              It refers to being a good little girl. No one ever says it to a man.

                1. Oh. Sorry. It was just pretty much that phrase repeated over and over, with Jesus thrown in for good measure.

  4. Yup we’re the cheerful little helpers! One of my real ticked-off moments is when I get emphatic, usually with a sales person who is not helpful and they say, “OK just be calm” You dolt, I am calm when I need to be and irrate when you jerk me around! They’d never say that to a man.

      1. ““Calm down” is like a red flag to me.”

        At my next to last cubicle job, I went to a meeting where we were to finalize our bid for a job. I no sooner opened my mouth to start reviewing (and defending) my software estimates than the head of electrical engineering (i.e., the guys) said to me, “Now don’t get hysterical.”

  5. “Don’t get hysterical!”

    That is like saying, “Don’t get your uterus in an uproar!” How about “Don’t go all testosterone on me!”

    1. Or “Put that thing back in your pants” or something equally as dismissive. Oh, wait. That’s not nice. DJers would never be not-nice.

  6. “OOOOO, I hope your response was astonishingly appropriate?”

    I tend to hold it all in until one day I go all Vesuvius. In fact, when someone says something like that to me, I tend to shut down and keep it under even more tight control. But I’m sure I was screaming in the car all the way home.

    1. I do that even after I’ve gone all Vesuvius. I should probably calm down. HAHAHAHHA and ha.

Leave a comment