An I-84 ramp will be occupied on Thursday

The Connecticut Action Alliance for a Fair Economy is sponsoring a protest/occupation that starts at 3 p.m. in  front of Aetna’s corporate headquarters at 151 Farmington in Hartford. Demonstrators will then march to the Broad Street I-84 on-ramp as an act of civil disobedience. (Hey! That’s my on-ramp!)

The action is part of the larger International Day of Action. You can read more here. Protesters are calling on Congress to:

Create good jobs

Stop cuts to vital services

Make Wall Street banks pay

The alliance includes the Service Employees International Union and the Connecticut Citizen Action Group.

UPDATE from an email sent to all legislators and legislative staff from the Connecticut State Capitol Police (and thanks Bryan):

The civil disobedience associated with this march will consist of the blocking of the I84 east bound on ramp off of Broad St. The group is scheduled to rally in front of the Aetna building then make there way to Broad St.  Hartford PD will be blocking off Broad St. around 2-3 pm. Once this takes place no vehicular traffic will be allowed onto Broad St. All of our traffic leaving the LOB will be directed onto Capitol Ave. We have not been given a time as to when this event will be over but our guess is that things hopefully will be back to normal by 5 pm. There has been no indication that the march will interfere anymore than with traffic coming and going from our location.

If you are coming to or leaving the campus during this event please plan your time accordingly and expect some delays. Thanks you in advance for your anticipated cooperation during this event.

Published by datingjesus

Just another one of God's children.

Join the Conversation

2 Comments

  1. … wish I could have been there… thanks for the update, nice work by everyone there, great Chion photos too!
    (Patty Connelly-Cohen, a Hartford resident) ;-)

    1. Hey, Patty! Thanks for the comment. I know the timing of this made it impossible for a lot of people to attend, but I was glad to be there. (I mean, it was right outside my workplace AND I covered it so I had two excuses.)

Leave a comment