Join the Conversation

27 Comments

    1. Crap. There is no interesting world that has “Susan” in it. Sustained? Susceptible? Jay-normous?

      1. There’s Susannite. Otherwise known as Pb4(SO4)(CO3)2(OH)2. It’s a mineral. I’m not sure if you would be able to use the word in everyday conversation much but maybe if you get creative. http://webmineral.com/data/Susannite.shtml

        “So, we were talking about healthcare and….oh look, there’s some Susannite over there!” ???

      2. Oooo, it’s pretty — BUT it’s mostly lead, damn, guess we can’t start a jewelry business with it…..

  1. Heck, when I was a kid, my Dad told me I had to EAT a peck of dirt before I died. I always thought a little dirt was healthy as long as you cleaned up before eating and bedtime.

    1. There was an old woman in my neighborhood who’d be sloshing dirt around in her mouth every day. She was ancient when I knew her so I assume she’s joined the Choir Immortal now. I never asked her why but she seemed pretty healthy, considering how old I think she was.

  2. A peck of dirt? That’s a lot. My grandmother would say “a pint of dirt.” And she lived to 98.

    1. It was definitely a peck in my family. I had no idea how much a peck was in fact the only other time my Dad talked of a peck was when he sang:
      “I love you, a bushel and a peck!
      A bushel and a peck, and a hug around the neck!
      A hug around the neck, and a barrel and a heap
      A barrel and a heap, and I’m talkin’ in my sleep.
      About you.”

      I still don’t know how much a peck is so I wash my veggies, but I don’t sterilize them before eating them – to get my share of clean, healthy dirt.

  3. “Crap. There is no interesting world that has “Susan” in it. Sustained? Susceptible? Jay-normous”

    There is the expression, “naked as a jay-bird.” But at the moment I am fully clothed.

    And there’s jaywalking, which I very seldom do.

  4. Susanville! Find it on your map!

    Susanville, CA is nicknamed “Prison City USA.” It’s the biggest employer in that corner of California.

    1. Yanno, I do what I can to start these discussions that have little to nothing to do with the actual point of your posts. You’re welcome.

  5. I try to get a good wallow in about once a week.
    Which can be hard to do during winter in the Rockies.
    Unless there’s a townhall on healthcare reform.

  6. All kids should be licked by a dog or cat and get really dirty 6 days a week. Sunday they can stay clean so Mom can get a break! When I worked the ER parents would apologize if their kid was dirty when they brought them in with a broken arm or some playground calamity. I always said I worry more about clean kids with broken bones more than I did dirty ones!!

    1. “I always said I worry more about clean kids with broken bones more than I did dirty ones!!”

      Good point.

  7. Susanville is a charming town about two hours north of us.

    There are songs a certain time of year that are called Carols, and there are library carrels.

    My rule has alwys been if my kids are dirty, I know they’ve been having fun. Of course the younger one – when he was about 1 I put him fresh and clean into his car seat to drive about 5 minutes away. When we arrived at our destination, he was filthy and covered with jam, very mysteriously. His brother, also sitting in the backseat had no idea what happened….wait a minute….

    1. And I bet his brother had the sweetest lil’ look on his elfin face when he professed not to know what happened.
      My mother once looked out the kitchen window and saw Brother 1 throwing a rope over the clothesline so that he could string up Brother 2, just like he saw the cowboys do it. Jam would have been a nice trade.

  8. “When we arrived at our destination, he was filthy and covered with jam,”

    I think there’s some kind of magnetic attraction, no?

    One early evening my mother went to a neighbor’s for a short visit. My father put my toddler sister onto the toilet, using a kiddie’s toilet seat which, as I recall, had a security strap. Thinking she was quite safe, he left the room for a minute and when he came back, was shocked to see his little daughter covered in red and thought she was somehow bleeding to death. Of course she had grabbed our mother’s lipstick which was within easy reach.

Leave a comment