Join the Conversation

30 Comments

        1. Wow. These are beautiful. And I’m sure Bro. Jay won’t mind an extra day or two to fix up the guest wing.

  1. Kill a bird? There’s one commercial turkey farm in Alabama, and it’s in Lowndes County. You can buy Bates Turkeys on-line, or in their store in Greenville.

    I cooked one last year, and it was great.

    1. I one time made a bid at a charity auction on a freshly-slaughtered turkey, and won, and they delivered it in a bloody bag to my doorstep. And it was 30 pounds and it baaarely fit into the oven. It was one of my more challenging Thanksgiving meals.

  2. Hahaha I remember when this movie came out, Joe was all telling us to not watch it because it made fun of Christians.

    1. I saw it with my son here in New England and we were the only two laughing maniacally at this scene in the whole theater.

    1. I literally got simple at the theater over this. Sometimes, I play it for myself to get simple again.

  3. Ricky Bobby! We saw the premiere entrance for Taladega Nights at the Chinese Theater in Hollywood a few years ago. Will Ferrell is a nut, but Molly Shannon was the one who was most personable with the fans. Silly movie, but I do agree that I love that little baby Jesus.

    1. Someone trained a dog to sniff bombs (somewhere) and they named him Ricky Bobby Baby Jesus. That, or it was a rescue dog. I forget everything but the dog’s name.

      1. That’s a long name for a dog. Imagine calling that dog? “Come, Ricky Bobby Baby Jesus.” “Sit, Ricky Bobby Baby Jesus.” My dog would lose focus after the “Ricky”.

        1. I was around a little lap dog yesterday who really didn’t acknowledge humans except for their ankles, which he liked to bite.

  4. On the topic of Thanksgiving, 5 hours after our dinner was finished, I discovered another dish in the oven that I had forgotten to take out! I can’t believe it. We had plenty of other things, but it was one of the things that I had spent quite a bit of time on yesterday. At least we have plenty for later. Sheesh!

    1. I left the whipping cream in the fridge at my house, so our pumpkin pie was nekkid. A few days ago I had friends over and forgot I had corn bread in the oven. By the time I remembered, they were lovely little stones. Inedible, but lovely.

      1. Another friend of mine made everything in advance and forgot to take the squash out of the refrigerator for reheating. She didn’t realize it until after dinner. I guess it happens.

        The good news is if you are hungry tomorrow, you could put whipped cream on your waffles or in your coffee or….

        1. True. It’s the kind you actually have to whip, so I’m betting I won’t. I really think I can skip breakfast, for all I stuffed into my pie hole today.

      2. Ha ha. A good pumpkin pie doesn’t need whipped cream, especially the stuff that comes out of a can.

        And forgetting stuff in the oven is part of the fun.

        1. I don’t do (she sniffed) the stuff outta the can. Once you’ve had the stuff you actually have to whip up, you won’t ever go back.

          1. Really? Once I made a pumpkin pie from a real live pumpkin, fresh from an organic farm. My daughter, asked if we could go back to the canned kind after tasting it. I think I had a bad recipe. It used raw, shredded pumkin and I bet it would have been better if it had been precooked and mashed.

            1. I tried to make one like that too, once. I was more successful roasting the pumpking seeds.

          2. Oh wait, were talking about the whipped cream or the pumpkin? I bet you were talking about whipped cream. Oops.

  5. “Really? Once I made a pumpkin pie from a real live pumpkin, fresh from an organic farm. My daughter, asked if we could go back to the canned kind after tasting it. I think I had a bad recipe. It used raw, shredded pumkin and I bet it would have been better if it had been precooked and mashed”

    The pumpkins grown for Hallowe’en carving are not the same kind as those grown for cooking. A pie pumpkin has a higher sugar content.

    My grandmother (1898-1996) prided herself on making everything from scratch, but drew the line at scooping out pumpkins for pie. Too much mess, she said.

    1. I destroyed a kitchen floor trying to make it from scratch. And I don’t think I knew you needed a different kind of pumpkin, either. You are a fount of knowledge.

    2. I actually did use the pumpkin pie type pumpkin, “sugar pumpkin”. My big mistake was not pre-cooking them, I think. It was a big mess and way too much work. I’m with your Grandma on that.

Leave a comment